Lola

I had a different kind of day thanks to storm Doris. I had planned to get up to Scotland for few days to see my daughter and today was the day! With the storm forecast I was very unsure whether to risk the journey but if I didn't travel today the trip would have to be cancelled. It was blowy at home but sunny to so I set off early and boy was it a horrible journey! The worst bit was between Birmingham and Manchester. Lorries and cars were swerving violently and unpredictably, the worst ones were the self drive Bedford vans which often looked like two of their wheels were going to lift off the road. I saw two trees which had fallen right over the two carriageways one of them had hit a car so I ended up driving in the fast lane most of the time to keep away from that hazard!! I was hit by a lump of flying debris at one point , probably a branch and say another 8foot long stick hurtling through the air just in front of me. It landed in front of the lorry in front of me and thankfully did no harm.
The Manchester ship canal bridge closed to all traffic causing a long detour but thankfully the snow that was forecast didn't happen as forecast. The rest of the journey from Lancaster northwards was not so bad and I arrived in time for a cup of tea and now it is definitely bedtime. I hope you have all kept safe through the storm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.