Morning Walk

I should take the camera with me more often on our Friday jaunts. The intense light of the morning sun imparts a glow to the street surfaces and shines attractively through the overhanging canopy that we enjoy so much as we stroll around Blackheath. I have shot this sort of thing in colour before but monochrome (while losing a lot of lovely subtleties) DOES focus attention on the central point of interest rather than allow it to dissipate across the scene.

Incidentally this isn't "sepia" as such. Silver Efex calls this tint "coffee". I wanted to impart something of the sense of warmth that existed at the time of the shot.

MMC17 has been a useful discipline and has reminded me most strongly about what works in mono and what probably doesn't. But I have had to pass up SO many wonderful images for which colour was a central theme. I do declare I am getting withdrawal symptoms. For March I have prescribed myself a month of outrageous colour for therapy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.