Bamse again!

Here is Bamse yet again  -  as well as yesterday in the Health Clinic I blipped him a wee while ago. This time overlooking the river in Wharf Street, Montrose  -  a nice description HERE!  The Edinburgh sculptor, Alan Herriot, was commissioned for the statue, and a copy exists in Honningsvag Town Centre  -  click HERE!  His owner Capain Hafto lived there and Bamse was born there. I remember Captain Hafto coming to speak at Kinghorn Primary School when I was a pupil there in 1943. I remember him as being quite a small man. I was quite tall for my age – 12 – so I guess looking back I was measuring him against myself. I remember him and his uniform very well, but I can’t remember him having a dog with him. That’s a shame  -  it would be great to be able to say I’d actually met Bamse in real life!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.