Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

OUCH!

My appointment with Mr Wan was at 10.30, so I intended an early visit to the gym. Unfortunately, I drifted off to snooze again till it was too late. What a pity.

Boy, did he really hurt me this time! It was sooooo sore, but my squeals and gasps only served to spur him on. In China, he explained, this massage of the damaged muscles is undertaken shortly after surgery. Increased flexibility cannot happen till the muscles are repaired. But if you sit around and 'be patient' (which was my consistent NHS advice) it may not happen at all.

'Have you been to China?' he chats while torturing me.

'No, but if you fix my knees, I'll go!' I squawked.

This time, I had my earbuds, and listened to my audiobook for half an hour under the heatlamp, while my needles did whatever they do. Actually, I listened to the chapter that I fell asleep to last night.

Then I popped in to the cafe, and this nice barista made me a very good flat white. I love watching an expert at work.

Zody had come to take Archie out for the first time, and sent photos from Inverleith Park, where there are lots of ducks, and therefore lots of duck poo! She brought him home and there was a rather stinky smell wafting from him. He'd rolled in something yucky, probably the aforementioned duck poo. I can't wash him (being unable to bend down), and so he's been sitting beside me on the sofa, silently wafting, awaiting JR's return from town.

Rugby weekend coming up. Yay!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.