Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Street Corner Series

Conversation at the corner.  NE Broadway at NE 23rd Ave.  My only picture, taken en route to the vet, alone as I was just picking up new meds.

For those not interested in Doyle's latest health stuff, please skip to final paragraph.

We received the results of Doyle's bloodwork from the lab and the news ain't great.  Her aldosterone levels are insanely high which is pointing to the  strong likelihood that a gland on one of her kidneys is malfunctioning/cancerous and causing her body to constantly flush potassium out of her system leading to this hypokalemia situation.

Surgery is the definitive way to deal with it once tests can be run to figure out which kidney, they can just remove that gland and she'll be fine.  She can also be treated with drugs but that would be for the rest of her life and constant monitoring - this is the route we are going to take just for the interim until we can get moved down to Redwood City and her in to see a vet down there.  Hubby is talking to a vet clinic there today.  

So, we go see our Portland vet tomorrow to see how her blood pressure is and how her values are since they were last done Tuesday.  

I am hoping, hoping, I've found a solution to the potassium supplement twice daily battle - I bought some Bonito Flakes (kitty crack) today and sprinkled a bunch on the powdered supplement, she ate everything in two seconds.  Fingers and toes crossed that she continues to be fooled by this 'treat' - of course I have a new medication (pill form) to give her for managing the aldosterone problem, I will see if I can disguise that like her blood pressure tablet in some chicken broth.

---

Spoke to my friend and lovely neighbor, Sharon, she of wicked sense of humor and feistiness.  Her brother had died last night, I offered her my condolences, her reply: Enh, at least it wasn't me!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.