Littlemouse Adventures

By LitlemouseLilly

Little Pen of Life

I carry this because it could save my life.

I had my first anaphylaxic reaction when I was a teenager to a migraine treatment called imigran. We hoped that this would be an isolated incident but unfortunately it wasn't, my next anaphylaxic reaction happened while away on an A level field trip and ambulance and some adrenaline later I was fine but my hospital consultant decided that it would be a wise precaution for me to carry an epi-pen which is an auto injector of adrenaline.

Now I have a long list of drug allergies and intolerances but over the years I have become complacent but recently I have started to explore new drug treatments to help manage the pain I get with my ME and I decided that it was time to finally (only taken about 15 years) apply to get a MedicAlert bracelet paramedics are trained to look for these and you are backed up by a 24 hour help line so if you are in an emergency situation the right information about you is easily gotten to the right people.

Why hadnt I done this before - well as I said I had become complacent - in my mind my allergies are to medication and well thats easy to predict - fine if I am not taking anything caution when I start to take something new. But what if I was in an accident? I am allergic to penicillin and other antibiotics, I also take a fair few meds - what about interactions?

I have also done a little refresher on anaphylaxis its good to remind yourself about these things.

You can find more about the symptoms here
And here is some info on first aid treatment

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.