Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Oh no! I think my cheeks have lips!!!

I distinctly heard Mimsy let out a shriek when I showed her this picture. And she won't be at all happy that I blipped it. She is horrified and beyond embarrassed about the extra lips. Go ahead, look closer - you know you want to!

We are heading into a three day weekend here (yay) and the weather is supposed to be pretty nice through Monday (again, Yay). Hubs and I are going into NYC for the night on Sunday - it's our 12th anniversary and we thought, what better place to spend it than in NYC? Tomorrow will be chores in the yard - want to finish the butterfly/bird garden wall so that I can put some plants in. My neighbords at the Good Hand Farm gave me a bunch of bergamot, bee balm and phlox for the garden, so I want to get that in the ground now. The finches have already discovered the bee balm and have been happily munching seeds from the heads. It bodes well for next summer!

I worked most of the day, but did take a bit of time out to take a few shots around the yard. I've posted a selection on blipfolio including some more shots of Mim, a butterfly, flowers and (spoiler alert) a spider. For my fellow arachnaphobes, you may want to skip the last shot in folio as that is the spider. It's a huge one, too. I am just extremely happy it is outside. If it were inside it would have to die. Immediately, I'm afraid. Outside, it can live. For now.

Back to Mimsy for a minute. She has burrowed out a little summer cottage for herself in my flower garden next to the hose; however, her primary residence seems to be in our front yard in the big rock wall. As you can see from some of the folio shots, she has quite a good arrangement there. The wall is about 40 feet long, so plenty of room for expansion. It is an old farm wall that my hubs and I put back up when we found it crumbled in an overgrown part of our property. That was a "two weeks, honey, I promise" job that took about six months. Well, it looks cool and it makes a nifty residence for the chipmunks. In other Mimsy news, she now runs right up to me when I am outside on the deck or patio and peers intently up at me to see if I have peanuts. Have to be a bit careful feeding her because she doesn't seem to know the different between peanuts and fingers. Oops.

Thanks you for sending yesterday's Welcome Home hummer to the spotlight page. I thought I'd give you all a hummer break today even though they are flitting around all over the yard at the moment. And we still have at least one adult male around, so I am guessing it will be 3-4 weeks before the last of the juveniles leave.

I am going to be a little hit-or-miss with comments this weekend, but at the very least I will stop by and look at journals and leave some stars in my wake... To all my friends in the US, Happy Labor Day! And to all my friends elsewhere, Happy Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.