Love Live Music

By lovelivemusic

Cleaning the Silver

I have just finished cleaning this silver cup called the Van Dusa cup which is awarded to children for Art and handicraft in our annual village horticulture show. I know, can you believe it, we really do still have village shows in England where we British subtly compete in a competitive non-competitive way to show off our apples, pears and handicraft every September to the rest of the village.
I must confess I love it and over the years have "encouraged" my children to make a vegetable animal, 6 fairy cakes or submit one of their school clay monsters in an attempt to win the Van Dusa cup.
I can say with my pride that both my kids have won it and their names if you look closely are engraved on the base plaque. This cup has been awarded every year since the 1950's and this year will be the last year I polish it as my youngest son is now too old to enter. So I thought I would take a picture to add to Blip to remind me in the future.
I still don't know who the Van Dusa's are or were but this little bit of silver has brought much joy to our household for 2 years. Time to move on to big boy games ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.