Earring Macro

My blip tonight was the result of brief play with my new toy, a small light tent. I never dreamed I'd ever own one of these as I had only ever seen them demonstrated by a museum photographer and thought they must cost an arm and a leg. However, managed to purchase a small one measuring about 12inches cubed for the princely sum of £10. They are useful for the lighting of shiny objects where a diffuse overall light is necessary to avoid burnout highlights on the shiny surfaces. I suspect they have become the rage because of sellers trying to sell items on e-Bay with a half decent photograph of the item they are selling. 

I need to play about a bit more with my LED lighting setup but this will certainly do as an initial stab. Just to give you some idea of proportions, the part of the earring I have photographed measures something less than 10mm square. The image from the digital microscope is so detailed that I even felt the need to remove some of the blemishes !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.