Blush response

By Esper

The Pleasure Principle

The whole family came to enjoy a fun afternoon of karaoke today which made a nice change as Valerie rarely joins us, and sometimes it's just me and Arthur who go. 

Arthur got a high score of 93.939% with Country Road, a song which is played every day at his school when it is time to clean up. I never broke 90% today. Perhaps if I had tried singing Blondie I might have managed it. In descending order of scores, I scored 87.280% with Enjoy The Silence, 80.562% with Wild, Wild Life, 79.647% with Rock n Roll Suicide, 77.981 with Psycho Killer, 76.577% with Five Years, 75.652% with Personal Jesus and 74.421% with Just Can't Get Enough.

I came home and had a lovely 10 kilometers run and then asked Valerie to take some suitably pop-star photos for me. I had to buy her a doughnut, but it was worth it because she's really captured the inner Numanoid, I think.

"Rhythm is both the song’s manacle and its demonic charge. It is the original breath, it is the whisper of unremitting demand. “What do you still want of me?” says the singer. “What do you think you can still draw from my lips?”
“Exact presence that no fantasy can represent; purveyor of the oldest secret; alive with the blood that boils again and is pulsing where the rhythm is torn apart. How your singer’s blood is incensed at the depth of sound.”
Lacerations echo in the mouth’s open erotic sky - where dance together the lost frenzies of rhythm and an imploring immobility."
(Jean-Paul Goude)

Bonus Track to compliment the quote and because it is, quite simply, one of my favourite songs and videos ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.