runeleines

By RuneLeines

Aurora Borealis

This shot underlines the importance of always having your camera close (and your tripod).

I had been away for the weekend visiting my girlfriend. On my way back home, the heaven just "exploded" in one of the most spectacular northern lights show I've ever seen. It was very cold outside, below minus 15 degrees Celcius. I had my camera inside the car, but my tripod laid in the trunk, However,  the lock was frozen, so I couldn't open it! The light was changing very quickly, and I knew I didn't have much time if I should capture this! I put on my wide angel lens, and tried to arrange the camera on the roof of the car. But the roof was covered with snow, and the car was not parked in level, so the camera kept sliding as soon as I let go of it. By  supporting it with the lens hood,  my gloves and the jacket, I finally got it steady. (The downside was that without my jacket I was so cold that I couldn't stand still) I didn't have any time to calculate any exposure, so I tried to "eyeball" it the best I could. I managed to get 5 shots, then it was all gone! But I got this. And I didn't catch the cold either :) 

Fujifilm X-PRO1 with Voigtlander 15mm F4.5

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.