All-red Map

By Edelweiss_Cath

Fahrenheit 451

“Do you think Professor Faber died in the end?”
“He died. He led Montag to freedom, and if he couldn't go with Montag...it's connoted that he would never reach freedom.”
“And how about Clarisse? Why was she killed in a car accident-such a casual way of dealing with the death of an important character?”
“She didn't die in the accident-she was the woman who got burnt alive with her books. She was the woman who defended the right to read till death. There was a connotation-when the firemen drove past Clarisse's house they started to talk about the woman who died in the conflagration.”
Such deep connotations in Fahrenheit 451°...! It's definitely my favourite book now. Though quite sad my second favourite character Prof Faber died, I was happy to find out Clarisse was the woman burnt alive shouting“You can't ever have my books”. Cuz I always take that woman as my favourite character, and I wonder why it's not Clarisse-now I have the answer from Miss Goetz. These two characters are exactly the same person. Everything is clear. Sentimental though-I take F451 as the book with the least depression and the strongest sense of hope amongst all the 3 dystopian novels assigned through Y4. I still think it's a book of hope, but I get to realise its costs. The hope for Montag is established at large costs-so large that I now understand more why they say “books have people's souls hidden inside”. Each man had a book he wanted to remember, and did. One shares others' souls while reading-the souls of the people who wrote it, the souls of the people who read it before you do, and the souls of the people who sacrifice for it.
There's the scarlet thread of the Pathos running through the colourful and complicated plots of literature work. Our duty is to unravel it, and isolate it, and expose every inch of it.



p.s. the pic is my favourite corner in the library. it's another "my place"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.