Tattie howker (not a hay spinner!)

A very wet day today, which has got wetter as the day has gone on, then, as someone I knew used to say - 'Easing off to a steady downpour'!

I was passing the Creagan Inn, near the bridge over Loch Creran, when I spotted this old horse-drawn machine, a hay turner as I thought, sitting on a mound against the sky. They're pretty common in gardens round here as restored antiques, though most of them are painted in lurid colours. This one is more restrained in colour and possibly as it was originally. I've since learned  that it's a potato spinner, for digging up the spuds - makes a lot more sense with those strong tines! Thank you to johndeere or putting me right!


Not a great day for photographs, though I did lean over the bridge a little further along from the Inn and take a few pictures of the rushing river which comes down the Gleann na h-Iola, the Glen of the Eagles, which after flowing under the bridge of the abandoned railway, crosses under the road and into the sea. I've put one on as an extra.

I should have worn my wellies!

Now at 4pm the sun has come out!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.