Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Scratch

Back on home turf after a couple of days away, so I took a morning walk down to Tong Park to take stock. Some of the horses were in the boggy part of the pasture, including this little one who'd found a handy scratching post in a part-fallen willow. I never feed the horses but it doesn't stop them sticking their noses in my pocket to see what I might have. 

On the dam the swans were also seeking scraps and there were signs that the cob was warming up to his seasonal duty of chasing down anything in a half-mile radius. I popped over the beck to see if I could spy a Bullfinch in their usual thicket, and I did, fleetingly.

Then it was an afternoon with the kids. They wanted to pop into Bradford where 12yo had some further training in Warhammer lore at Games Workshop. Considering we've yet to buy a single thing from them the staff have been very helpful and attentive -  I'm sure pennies will be handed over at some point. Without that visit I'd have missed a crop of ghost signs that had previously been hidden to me. I thought I'd tracked down everything that Bradford had to offer, but these were only visible when standing about a foot from them. I expect they'll do for a few blips in the future. Then it was home for tea before dropping the kids back with their Mum. Back-to-school/work-itis abounds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.