Marygold

By Marygold

Surprises

The day has been punctuated by several dog walks in varying weather conditions. Seems like a howling gale is the one coming next ! From the window I took several shots of the sky as it rained but this one was through the front door.

Had a surprise revelation today. I have often said I haven't done any ironing in years. It's almost certainly more than 30, but today I decided that a repair on a pair of jeans required an iron on a heatpatch and the ironing board and iron made a rare trip out of the cupboard. Not really ironing as such but it suddenly occurred to me that the stand for the iron, a light shade of blue, was likely to be asbestos. Looking at the metal cover on the top of the board I think this is probably metallic with asbestos in too. The whole contraption probably hasn't been out of the cupboard in the last 10 years but it will be heading for disposal tomorrow.

I bought around1980 I think and it's as good as new. I don't know how they were selling ironing boards with this material in so recently.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.