this luminous life.

By Laura

Empty Baseball Park.

Whiskeytown.

muddy field | bleachers in green grass | broken bench
berries! yes, there were lots of them | i stalked a squirrel

I went on one of my walks today. It's been awhile...
Walks cheer me up (although I was already in a good mood)
and usually produce pictures I like. Such as today. :D
I liked how the sun on the frozen baseball field looks like a lake.

_________________________
Today, I watched Cimarron: a film from 1931 that begins with a young pioneering family establishing a newspaper in a newly staked town in Oklahoma during the land rush of 1889, culminating with the wife's appointment to Congress in 1930. I mention this film because although it's a movie, it was pretty awesome to watch the prairie of Oklahoma become a small town run by uncivilized men to a booming city lined with streetcars and grand hotels. The same people who established the town in 1889 were those who watched their houses and business grow. What began as a western (covered wagons, outlaws, and gunfights) ended as a film about the expansion of a city and family. I loved it. It made me more hopeful about change and growth in my own future. Seeing that the new year is two days away, I see it fitting to talk about change....

I already have major plans for 2009. I can't wait. :)

[A year ago today... Zach & Ryan.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.