BASHA

As readers may remember, I made a New Year resolution to bivvy out once a month during 2017. February was drawing to a close and the weather has not been so good (!), so  I decided to go for it last night whatever the day brought...

The day brought a LOT of rain! But by 4.30pm it seemed to be clearing. I took the dogs for a walk and decided to bivvy in the garden. Not very exciting, but then my resolution had never mentioned excitement :-)

D had recently bought me a BASHA. This is apparently an acronym meaning British Army Standard Hotel Accommodation (typical military humour). Really it's a tarpaulin which you can use in various ways . I chose to use it as both groundsheet and shelter this time.

I had a mostly restful night and stayed dry. The temperature dropped to freezing in the early hours of the morning when the sky cleared and our neighbours' cockerels woke me at 5.30, but i went back to sleep.

Looking forward to going a bit further afield in March!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.