The Kirkton Weir

I know it looks like Almond Weir, I can confirm that it sounds like and smells like the Almond Weir too (especially after all the weekend's rain) but it is in fact known as the Kirkton Weir.

The reason I know this is that I've been in meetings with the River Forth Fisheries Trust about forthcoming work at the weir and access to it via our works entrance and goods yard.

I've been made point of contact from my employers' side as according to my boss, "You spend more time taking pictures of it than you do anything else!"

The Forth Fisheries Trust's project is to regenerate river life along the length of the Almond and part of that is maintenance work on the weir and the construction of a fish ladder within the weir to allow trout and salmon passage back up stream.

Should be interesting to the follow the project's progress and they have a website that will provide more information when up and running;

http://www.fishforth.co.uk/rfft/riverlife/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.