An appreciation of the familiar

We've lived in this part of the world for 17 years now, slowly and steadily its seeped into us and become home.
Im fortunate to have the opportunity to wander, to take the time to seek out the lane, bridleway and path less travelled, i like to think i know my little corner of the world fairly well. But of course we're drawn to what we love - so whilst there's not a hill I haven't climbed or a valley I've strolled in and I've now paddled on all the major waters flat or moving - the hamlets and towns are not as well known to me, their characters and histories waiting to be learnt.

Ive been told, and i know its true, that to be successful in the county council election Ill need a big turn out from Kirkby Stephen where over half the electorate live, and i will be spending time there of course, but....I've often felt we live in a forgotten little corner of the county and i think that probably many others do too. So im making a concerted effort to visit the out of the way hamlets, the dead end valleys and the tucked away homes. I know i could probably use my time more efficiently, but i also know this is the way i want to approach representing people.
Today was Church Brough - like many people I suspect, I'd only ever been to the castle and the farm parlour, but it was a wonderful little village with some stunning other buildings - there was a real sense of a place with a history that can be traced back to Roman times, a lovely place to wander around.
Time to look at the map and pick somewhere for tomorrow.

And yes, I stopped in Kirkby Stephen on the way back too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.