Mansefield Memories

By Calder

Gladstones Land.

I bought this original drawing from an Art student many years ago when I worked in 'The National Trust for Scotland ' house on the Lawnmarket in Edinburgh. I have often wondered what he is working at now. I have another of his drawings depicting the Kirk of Calder, Mid Calder. Perhaps if he becomes famous I will have two of his early works.
Gladstones Land was a 17th century merchant's house with many families living above the weaver's shop. The poor lived in the attics and the wealthy on the first and second floors. Beautiful painted ceilings adorn the two best floors. The outside stair was the entrance to the rooms above whilst the shop sold woollen cloth by the 'ell'. The arched entrance would shelter the customers from the rain but they were likely to meet the pigs that lived below the stairway.

Well worth a visit - Open from Easter -- closes at the end of Oct.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.