Hillyblips

By Hillyblips

Raspberry Juice

I would like to thank everybody so much for sending my adder to the spotlight with their wonderfully kind comments, stars and hearts yesterday; totally delighted and amazed at the response!! Just seen my butterfly from the 28th on the favourites page so more than thrilled - thanks!!

I wanted a far less dangerous day today and decided on an industrious few hours in the garden which included cleaning out the chicken coop. Halfway through this chore I noticed two Speckled wood butterflies fluttering round in the fruit cage - oh it was definitely any excuse to stop what I was doing! As The lingering smell of Jeyes fluid didn't appear to put them off, I snuck in there for a few snaps.

The Speckled wood is unique in it's ability to overwinter in two separate developmental stages - as pupae or half grown larvae. Very territorial liking dappled shade and tall grass they feed on honeydew but not ALL the time by the look of it. However I didn't mind sharing my raspberries as they were so beautiful with their cream and brown markings.

I think he looks like he's drinking from a straw and as I am quite partial to raspberries am afraid I WILL have to pick a few before they are sucked dry!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.