There and back again

By Mikes

What do you keep in your garage?

Overhearing Mrs M and Jane talking about sorting out the garage I thought I would have a preempted strike and get there first!

I have always had a thing about boat building. In fact when we moved here I built a Mermaid class sailing dinghy which I sailed at Lyme Regis. That was sold to finance something for the house if I remember right. To fill that urge to build I turned to model making and the result was a scale model of my old ship HMS Gurkha. It is scratch build (ie not a kit) and was about 36 inches long. The finished boat was fitted with radio control and I joined a club at Taunton where it won a "First Prize" for scratched built models.

I was lucky in that I had an intimate knowledge of her having lived on her for two years, and many photographs.. Like many of these projects, the fun and pleasure are in the building, then it comes down to where you put it to catch dust.!

After a while my model, like I guess many, ended up in the garage where she has been laid up getting knocked about and dirty. Will she get thrown out?
No Way. There are too many hours of work and memories gone into her, so its back to the top of the cupboard in the garage for now. I am off to hide the key!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.