Hyde Lock.

It's been some time since I went out on my bike. The weather and slight health problems are to blame if you listen to me. It's lethargy and idleness if you listen to V.

Anyway, the day here started off beautifully weather-wise so I decided to get out before the crowds and I ended up on the towpath of the Staffs and Worcs canal. Apart from the mud and puddles I really enjoyed the ride and I'm sure I'll venture out again this year.

The blip is of Hyde Lock on the above mentioned canal. Until about 100 years ago there was a tilting mill, spade and shovel manufacturer and corn mill nearby at The Hyde. Also The Kinver Light Railway, which was the first cross country tramway in England, ran alongside the canal at this point. Unfortunately due to the increasing popularity of the motor car and coach The KLR was closed in the 1930s

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.