Just a bit of scrap wax...

...left over from the encaustic pic I was doing. I was just wiping the iron on this piece of black card. Then, I had a bit of white and red melted wax left on the iron so was doing a sideways motion with the side of the iron cos the wax was dripping off.

A bit later I was about to throw the card away, and then I noticed it had the potential of being a butterfly, so I put the iron back on, put a bit of black and green on the iron and did the dark body of a butterfly and two antennae.

I have tried to repeat this and do an intentional butterfly...but alas...it looks like a lot of this encaustic wax painting with my iron is just going to be "happy accidents"!!!!

I have no more of the same black card. And it was that particular black card that allowed the wax to stay on the surface of the card. The different black card I had, any ironwork on it with the wax it just absorbed and absorbed and absorbed. The black card I need for this is a very cheap black card which is actually white paper in the middle and this surface of black paper placed/attached either side (by the manufacturing process). I don't have any left because I am doing something with my art group tomorrow and we all painted a picture either side of this black card the other week, and tomorrow we are ripping the black surface with our original painting and then creating a new one, and painting on it too. I was just using up this cheap black card because it didn't seem to be useful for anything...little did I know I was going to find it good to do encaustic wax painting on!!! Now I have to find some more.

Tomorrow's pic will be my attempt too on what I will be showing my art group about tearing up a pic and recreating a new pic...

So this is my pic today for my challenge to myself of a pic every day in 2017.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.