Who am I to disagree?

By longshanks

Osprey with fish

A few days back a couple of Ospreys were reported at Panshanger Park and among the ensuing chat I picked up the fact there was a new footpath and made a mental note to explore it sometime. I didn't rush out to see the Ospreys though, the consensus opinion was in fact it was a mistaken id for a couple of cormorants.

So today I went off new footpath exploring. Initially I entered the Panshanger Park area at the west end only to find a map that suggested I should be at the east end. A quick relocation and I found the new footpath and had views over the reclaimed gravel workings lake. There were the cormorants and the big bird circling above the lake? An Osprey! Started snapping away with the camera and was quite surprised at the speed it was taking 1/3200 but that should make for some sharp shots. Then the penny drops - it's still on last nights' moon shot setting - four stops underexposed. Not a single decent shot in the camera and the bird has now disappeared. No one's going to believe I had an Osprey here.

Anyhoo, hung around for twenty minutes and the Osprey came back. Camera really on the wrong setting for the shot I've published. It was set to take a dark bird against a light sky, but when the Osprey dived and caught a substantial fish this is the best I could do with a light bird against a dark background. It's more about the memory and the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.