Abstract Thursday : : Yucca

I hate going to the doctor, and the older I get, the more I dislike it because, as I have mentioned before, they always manage to find something wrong with you that you didn't even knew you had. As my grandson famously said, and I have oft quoted, "That's what you get for going to the doctor"

I went to see her today, and I hasten to point out, that it is the IDEA of the doctor, not the doctor herself that bothers me.  I quite like this doctor and, in spite of all the changes taking place in medical care these days, I think we have a good relationship.

 I am actually quite healthy but have a stubborn blood pressure condition known as "labile"...difficult to treat because it is sometimes high and sometimes low and always unpredictable. Oddly enough, the same grandson quoted above has the same condition. We went out to lunch with him last week and he was wearing a device that took his blood pressure every 20 minutes for 24 hours.

Today my doctor explained to me the various blood pressure medications and how they work. It seems that there is a complex relationship between them and adjusting them requires lots of monitoring.  which is why she is monitoring my potassium and aldosterone levels as well. I explained to her that, since each one has side effects that require  ANOTHER medication,  and that, since my blood pressure is inevitably high when I have to go to the doctor's office to have it taken, it might be better to just stop taking everything and see what happens....She wasn't buying it. She asked me when I would like to come back and I said, "er...never?" She laughed and said, "That's not an option. How about six months?" I didn't tell her about my friend's cat who seems to have the same condition....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.