Friday Foto

By drmackem

Wax?!

My usual place closed at New Year, predictably I've put this day off too long. I was accused of looking wild by MrsM.

My usual visit for a haircut requires the minimum exchange of conversation, a one line instruction which could be reduced to "cut". If the wireless was switched off there might be an eruption of conversation limited to a comment on the weather, or my stopping my self replying to the inevitable question" so you off work this afternoon" with the reply"no my job is getting my hair cut". The whole process functional, polite and well not like I imagine goes on in The Hairdressers.

But looking wild I called into another barbers, a sit and wait place. I sat down and looked around nervously, I knew it would come to this, shelves full of products, mostly wax(who knew).Apart from a 12year old and his mum, I was the only one without a hipster beard. The flow of conversation seemed constant, about gear,holidays, online gaming, F1 racing....and wax!

My turn now..
So it turns out he's a Mackem too, so depressing is it supporting Sunderland we limited that conversation to no more than a mutual groaning sound and moved on. He runs, and runners can talk about running for much longer than they run, and the 12 year old next to me updated me on good safety advice whilst online and we talked about the business and some community things and when I was suitably coiffed he asked if I wanted some wax, just when it was going well... I said"never had wax before", he says "and sounds like you're not starting now". Maybe next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.