Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

(Not the) Staffordshire Way

One of my photo walks last year was along part of the Staffordshire Way.  I have a strong affinity with this long distance walk.  Eight years ago a small team from our local authority were formed to take part in a charity walk over three days, joining other first responders, supported by the Signals Regiment, who are based in Stafford.  The Way is almost 100 miles long and by the end we were absolutely knackered.  Still the sense of achievement was manifest and I look back on one of the most rewarding experiences I've ever undertaken.

Anyway on the photo walk, I came across this small, broken post lying abandoned in a hedgerow, complete with the signs.  It was in a sorry state and there was no corresponding waypost anywhere to be seen.  I didn't feel too guilty in deciding to liberate it from the hedge and bring it home.  It now has pride of place in the garden.

I took the photograph because I woke with a really stiff neck and opted to work from home rather than drive to work.  It rained all day and despite keeping an eye out the window, even the birds were refusing to come to the feed stations in the garden.  So I ended up with yet another E.B.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.