1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Sorry ...

... this is the only picture I took today!

It was an interesting morning at the flats. Only two targets today - undercoat a couple of doors and help the carpenter put the ceilings up in the hallway of one of the flats. However, I ended up staying over an hour later than usual ...

I had 45 minutes of peace and quiet, when I managed to clean the doors down ready for painting, then a plummer arrived to fix a water pressure problem in a flat about to be occupied and another man arrived at the same time to measure some windows.

He wasn't a small chap, so squeezing through a window, out onto the scaffolding to get to the windows in question wasn't his favourite moment of the day. Also he doesn't like heights, he then told me. Well, at least he'd got it over with before 9am, so the rest of his day must have been better.

My friend Em, who owns the building, arrived and wanted to check water boilers, so turned the ones that were off, on. The carpenter had arrived and was getting himself set up. Meanwhile I was mixing up the undercoat I needed until he called me to help him.

We then had a bit of a change of plan - trying to figure out why there was no water in the kitchen tap of Flat 5, although there was in the bathroom taps and loo. Eventually it was concluded that the water pipe hadn't been connected. Another failing on the long list of issues with the builder.

I managed to paint the doors and then the three of us convened to put the ceiling boards up. When Em went to get the ladder, she found water from Flat 5 was leaking into the flat underneath it, Flat 2. Luckily the leak was easily located and what's more, access to the unconnected pipe for Flat 5 also located via the ceiling of Flat 2. A big relief as we were thinking the new floor of Flat 5 might have to be ripped up!

Finally we got to put the ceiling boards up!

Home for a quick lunch and a change of clothes ready for my afternoon job, which passed without issue thankfully.

Now trying to catch up on Bliplife!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.