It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

I need my Bed

It's great to get a seat! I've just spent far too long doing my bikes. I'm doing a time trial up Snake Pass tomorrow. My Cannondale is equipped with a compact chain-set (smaller gears) that seems the best choice. I have a lighter bike but I think as I'm 88kg, then the kg weight advantage won't compensate for smaller gears.

Unfortunately, the 'dale breaks The Rules most specifically #34 by having SPD's on for commuting! What a shit to get the pedals off though! It took ages! Job done now so at least I compensate a wee bit for the weight penalty of a heavier bike by having lighter (carbon) shoes. I don't know why I'm bothered. A 5km 5-15% climb (av 8%), no anaerobic capacity and limited power means that I may just beat the odd female super-vet on a Joe Waugh triple equipped steel workhorse!

Earlier in the day, I did the Media City 3.8km swim in Salford. I was nervous but focussed. The start was much less hectic than a triathlon swim and I soon got into a rhythm. I was pretty relaxed but working hard throughout. i would have liked to have pushed it a wee bit harder towards the end, but my right calf was feeling tight and there was certainly potential for it to cramp badly if I kicked hard!

In the end, I was happy with 1hr 17mins which was slightly ahead of target. I can go faster but need to do a bit more pool swimming to work on my speed. I had a great massage afterwards and asked the masseur to work on my calf. He went easy on it because of tomorrow's hill climb.....but thought that where the pain was could be related to my foot! Yow! He gave my foot a deep massage.....and located the exact point where the problem was coming from! Painful....but I feel much better for it now!

Then, I headed off to Unicorn to do my messages. Where else can you have an informed discussion with the checkout lady on why macadamia nuts are so expensive and how impressive the size of the current crop of golden beetroot are??? I love it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.