An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Black Water County, LIVE! (shindigs on steroids)

"UK folk punk scene since 2013, Black Water County bring an energetic live show of stout quaffing, banjo breaking and tin whistle mangling original music, along with trads and shanties."

Bournemouth was wet wet wet (a different band, from the 1980's, if I recall) last night and my Street shooting was getting Soggy Soggy Soggy (not a band name, as far as I recall).

I had got some reasonable usable images but a chance peek inside the The Winchester Pub, actually a live music venue that was apparently, once a bank. Grungy and kitsch and filled with the trendy and cool I was glad that I hadn't tried to take any form of tripod or wear hiking boots!

I still looked seriously un-cool but an eight quid entrance fee handed over and it was great to see amongst the trendy and fashionable, a number of powered wheelchairs (you know the sort) it was great to see the disabled able to not only getting access but front row seats too.

I started midway back with my Nikkor 85mm f1.8 and got some nice shots but as my confidence grew and seeing an opportunity, my (new to me) 11-16mm f2.8 Tokina soon got itself, right underneath,  pointing up baggy trouser legs, such as with this rather exuberant scene, but which hopefully conveys some of the vibrant, grungy and sweaty atmosphere, with dancing on the increase... 

It's certainly a venue I'll try again sometime. The band before this one was more Levellers-like, one of my favourites (whom I have seen live) whilst BWC was more Shane McGowan vocals with shindigs on steroids... 

Just a huge pity that the late bus home featured an alarming fight. I was upstairs with my big headphones on and the driver turned off the engine and I could feel the bus sway and knocks on the side (bangs and vibration) along with the c and f obscenities. For over five minutes it went on and then the perpretators noisily and swearily carried on their vocal abuse upstairs behind me for the entire hour and 20 minutes home. "Typical Friday night" is all the driver could say when I complained when we finally docked in Salisbury and told him he shouldn't have let them on etc.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.