FarmerGirl

By FarmerGirl

Growth

It's been an a-maizing growing season for farming so far this season, so it is nice to be having a nice sunny break from the normal couple days fine then rain days we have had most of summer.   We managed to get our hay made last week, very late due to the late arrival of summer.   The fog is starting to make its appearance in the mornings, but luckily it clears quickly and we usually have a nice day.

I got up extra early this morning and milked, something I haven't done for a while.  Coming back from locking up the cows in their paddock for the day, I stopped and took a few photo's on my phone.  This one is of our maize crop, looking up the valley. 

The maize has really taken off this year.  One of my extra photo's shows Farmerboy standing in the crop, giving you an idea of how tall it has grown.  Another two or three weeks, and it should be really to be harvasted.

My other extra photo is one of our crops of chicory.  The cows love this, and it regrows rapidly once it has been chewed out.  It almost looks good enough to put in a salad....not that I'm thinking about doing that!  It's cow tucker!

It's quiet in our household these days.  Son C is away at varsity studying, and son T comes and goes.  He's at school still, in his final year, but with his after school job, helping around the farm and out and about with friends (he's currently away kayaking), we keeps himself busy.

I'm going to try and blip more - I've missed my contact with everyone in blipland.  So watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.