Backflip

I decided to stay in Kandy until after my second visit to the hospital tomorrow. It was raining again so I didn’t do much during the day apart from buying a train ticket to visit my friend in Jaffna. When I was here before with my sister and B, we planned to go to see a Kandyan dance show but ended up staying in the Botanic Gardens watching bats. I went to the show today.


This isn’t the best photo but it shows the acrobatics that were part of one of the dances. He’s moving so fast that gravity hasn’t yet caused his sash to fall. There was also a dance with fire and one with plate spinning as well as more stylized dances. Music was provided by different types of drums and a small pipe. It looked like a small cornet but sounded like bagpipes without the drones.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.