Winsford

By Winsford

tha e fluich

I'm trying to learn some basic Gaelic, primarily so I can understand place names better when I'm out walking. The first lesson is phrases to do with the weather including "tha e fluich" (it is wet - especially useful in Scotland) and "tha e blàth" (it is warm - possibly less so).

So far I'm finding it rather complex - partly because the association of sounds with letters is different from English and partly because the grammar is different e.g. adding adjectives changes the spelling but I shall preserve.

Today "the e gle fhliuch" and also rather "liath" (one of the words I'd previously picked up from hillwalking, as in climbing Carn Liath.

I am also added in my quest by the local co-op in Pitlochry who helpfully provide gaelic translations of main product groups (see extra).


Today is liath

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.