A Nina Self Portrait

It is wet, very wet and the haar hangs at treetop level. The puddles underfoot are little lochs and the daffodils and snowdrops are hanging their heads under the weight of water.
My daughter has just phoned from Shipley to tell me about the sunshine and blue skies she is driving through. I blame Brexit for the difference in weather, because as a Scot these days, it is always handy to have it to blame.

Despite the inclemency His Lordship and I are going on a safari to the bright lights of either Bruntsfield or Morningside, depending how long it takes us to throw in the sponge for total discomfort.

Thankfully since taking a blip outside is the last thing on my mind, I have yet another offering from one of my grandchildren. This is a self portrait by Nina sent through from Glasgow ( via Falkirk High- thank you, Ewan) with her brother and Mama yesterday. This is quite a departure from her usual drawings of rabbits, and so deserves to be aired.

PS we have indeed walked to Morningside and back and are happy now to don the baffies and put our feet up with a certain glow of self righteousness at having suffered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.