Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

Lies In The Eyes

This woman is not a real beggar. The evidence is manyfold and why I have no problem with this candid, walk-by shot of her. From the fairly new shoes, to the fact she's eyeing up the next passer-by ...the second she gives up on me. Plus the fact that begging is almost exclusively for drunks in Denmark*, makes me doubt her honest intentions. Then there is the carefully crinkled cup that I have seen from similarly attired/looking women, from exactly the same coffee shop. Finally, there was the time it was pissing down with rain and I saw her refuse a hot meal and a chat from a well meaning chap as I was passing one day.  

Makes for a striking composition though....imho.

*Really, it's almost impossible to not be picked up by the system here. We once had a homeless woman nearby who had food brought to her bench everyday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.