DWBham

By DWBham

Not easy

My visit started on solid footing. We got ready for a walk, then waited a minute while Ann got Arvin ready, and they joined us. That was fun. After walking through a neighboring condo complex and seeing geese in a pond and chit chatting, Ann and Arvin headed back and my mom and I continued our walk. At one point she asked me where the car was, and I said it was at Silverado, where she was living now. That went so smoothly that I thought we had entered a new place of acceptance.

As we approached Silverado, mom asked what it was. I said that's where she lived now. Again she seemed to accept it, though she was shocked that she couldn't remember having ever been inside, let alone having lived there for a month. Then, back in her room, she got very specific in her questions and despair. She wanted to know where all her clothes were, and her furniture, her TV (that she didn't watch when she lived at  home), and all her treasures. She stayed on the empty side of the room, repeating that she couldn't live in such a small space, especially if someone else moved into that side of the room. It was all very clear and logical and heartbreaking. When I left she wouldn't hug me or look at me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.