REMEMBERING NEAR LIDDINGTON HILL

I often mention Liddington Hill as it is one of our “go to” places to look for dereliction.  I did get some photographs of a derelict building but liked this one of Liddington Hill better, with the storm clouds gathering.

Shortly afterwards the rain hammered down and we could hardly see through the windscreen, so I was glad I had taken this earlier.  While we were looking up to Liddington Hill, we thought of our special friend, Karen, who died 3 years ago today.

Later this afternoon Mr. HCB and I are going round to see Keith, her husband, with four other friends to remember Karen and in his words “to do something she enjoyed too - playing games!”  In fact, I reckon that this family probably have more games than the nearest games shop!

The game we will be playing - after learning it the other evening, with the same friends, is called Seven Wonders - and it’s described like this:

“It’s a game in which you are the leader of the one of the seven  great cities of the Ancient World - and you gather resources, develop commercial routes and affirm your military authority, build your city and erect an architectural wonder which will transcend future times.”  

I’m not quite sure I understood all I was doing, but I guess as we play more, I will understand more and I will make sure I sit next to Keith, as he knows more about the game than anyone, and I may need some help!

Looking for a quote this seemed so appropriate for today as we remember Karen - I have put a photograph of her in as an extra, which I took at their son’s wedding. 

“...we should be remembered for the things we do. 
The things we do are the most important things of all. 
They are more important than what we say or what we look like. 
The things we do outlast our mortality. 
The things we do are like monuments that people build 
to honour heroes after they've died. 
They're like the pyramids that the Egyptians built 
to honour the Pharaohs. 
Only instead of being made out of stone, 
they're made out of the memories people have of you. 
That's why your deeds are like your monuments. 
Built with memories instead of with stone.” 
R.J. Palacio

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.