Mimsdaze

By Mimthing

Golden Eagle

these talons -according to the bird handler- have the same power as a tiger's jaw..!
I was more than happy to don a glove and let a Golden Eagle perch upon my wrist, not so sure I would take my chances by putting my hand in a tiger's mouth tho!

Some things take time to get done, I bought a Falconry day as a xmas gift for himself ....one year ago!

Today has been the day and what a fab day it has been, set off a little slow with an inexperienced member of staff showing us around the avaries and doing her best to tell us about the varying birds there-in...the centre relies a lot on volunteers who are all on a very steep learning curve.


We were also told that the peregrine falcons in London travel/fly an average of 1000 miles a day.
I am in no posistion to query this but do wonder -whilst not wanting to think we have been mis-informed- as to how correct this information is..?


Anyway, Golden Eagle, Harriss Hawk, Kestril, Barn Owl, Peregine Falcon, Buzzard, Tawny Owl and more...can't remember them all and will certainly never forget the experience.


Superb day and I think he enjoyed it too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.