Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

The mysterious menagerie....

 A rainy and cold trip to Nostell Priory (National Trust, Wakefield) today, prior to picking Cheeky Chino up from Jess'.  
Captivated by the shenanigans of the swans on the lake, couldn't make up my mind if it was 'spring fruity' behaviour, 'get off my patch' behaviour or 'you teenagers should leave the nest' behaviour but a male swan defo had a bee in his bonnet! 
Anyway, a lovely chat with an elderly lady who chose a walk in the park in the rain over cleaning.... (yeaaaah) who told us about the swans, and about the 'menagerie' the other side of the lake.  I did think 'a menagerie' was about 3 people in a relationship but nope..... a place where exotic animals were kept for 'showing off'...... what a magical place it was.... here's an old photo of the building I found on flickr.... though I couldn't find much history about the menagerie itself... intrigued to know if you know?  

I will go back when that wisteria? is in full flourish :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.