Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

Stefanus Church, Holwierde, NL

I went out for a short landscape shoot this afternoon with Peter. The weather was nice and the light was great. A 'winter-but-also-spring-ish' atmosphere.
We ended up at the Bierumermaar (the name of the canal you see) near Holwierde, as small village close to home.

I've been wanting to shoot this church for a long time now, but I could never find the right spot to do it from. It's a huge church, built on a mound. (We call that a terp or wierde, hence the name of the village: Holwierde.) The church towers high above the village. Yesterday morning I drove past it and saw this possible location to shoot from.

Well, let's say this was a good starting point, but I haven't finished with this church yet. There's more in it! Have to come back...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.