*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

GF

Now everybody's got a crazy notion of their own
Some like to mix up with a crowd, some like to be alone
It's no one else's business as far as I can see
But every time that I go out the people stare at me


From With My Little Ukulele In My Hand
Lyrics by Jack Cottrell and performed by George Formby

One of my fave GF songs to play and I like the lyrics too, although some would argue that when he refers to the "little ukulele in his hand", it's not actually a ukulele that he's on about. Same goes for the stick of Blackpool rock which causes such merriment. It amuses me that some of his lyrics were censored by the BBC. I'm a great fan of innuendo. People are often surprised when I say how much I love Carry On films. Always have. I didn't know there was anything rude about them, growing up - they just used to make me laugh.

Already anxious about tomorrow so I've tried to take my mind off things by playing my uke. I don't realise that I've improved loads until I play along to GF and can now keep up with him during the solos. Anyone can strum the chords, it's all about the solos with GF. He was a genius.

Decided to have a play about with my picture today. It's 2 photos, layers, mask, texture and all sorts of silliness. I just kept fiddling about until I liked it. Kept my mind occupied for a few minutes.

P.S. I think the give away with the above song is the last line, after his wife has just given birth:

My heart did jump with joy I could see it was a boy,
'Cause he had his ukulele in his hand, oh baby, he had his ukulele in his hand.

Makes me chuckle every time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.