DancingAly

By DancingAly

Not a Happy Bunny...

* Felt bunnies newly purchased from Waitrose's Easter decoration aisle ;-)

I've been waiting for the 3rd March. It was shoulder day. I've had so much pain. I've googled, wondered etc and I couldn't wait to know the reason for all of this. 

I was a bit early for my appointment. The lady doc was the same one I saw last time, she's really nice. She asked me how I am, and I said I was in more pain than ever. She asked me which one was worse, and I said the right had become extremely painful. It keeps me awake at night, it throbs at rest, gets stiff and turning over in bed/arranging covers is excruciating! 

She talked me through it all and showed me my scans on the computer. Basically all of my shoulder bone(?) was covered in white, which means I have a stress fracture. Which is very unusual, and is normally seen in shins, feet and ankles, etc. She said miraculously all of my muscles and tendons seemed to have clung on for dear life and remain intact. I have a small tear of my infraspinatus muscle though. My left one also has a stress fracture, but it's not as large as the right. This one shows more signs of impingement, which is what we both thought it was based on my exam last time. I have bursitis in that one, which is where most of the pain is coming from. 

I was really surprised, as I had an X-ray when I came last time, and it was clear, so this never entered my head. She said the surgeon will not touch it and the best thing to do is to have complete rest for three months, and give the fractures time to heal. 

Which means no gym :-( She was very sympathetic- I think the gym part was what upset me most! But she said I can go and do legs and abs, conditioning work etc, but definitely no handstands,or swinging around bars etc.

I was really hoping that it was rotator cuff, and that in the next few weeks I'd be having an op to fix it. She said that for active, and younger people they don't often do anything, so it's not looking hopeful. I think it might be, after some more research, that an athlete is likely to damage the repair whereas a sedentary person stands a good chance at full recovery.

So there's nothing I can do. I cannot believe how I've managed to do this. The pain has been bad, and the throbbing I now know is bone pain, which is why it hurt so much. She's booked me in for another MRI at the beginning of June and then I'm seeing her a couple of weeks after to see where we are.

Terrific! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.