Hora....

Not the evening I expected to be having.

My friend bought me a ticket to see Hora, a performance piece by an Israeli dance company. When we got to the Playhouse we were greeted by around 40 Palestinian protesters and several police, camped outside.

As we headed into the venue, we were screamed at, told that our tickets had 'Palestinian blood on them'.

There were many empty seats and a noticeable police presence as the lights went down.

Several times throughout the performance, when it came to a quiet section, protesters, who must've had tickets and had been sitting quietly up to this point, stood up, shouting their protests, until bundled out by security staff and the police. I think we counted the performance being interrupted about 8 times - the lights on the stage going off, the music stopping, and the dancers stopping, mid dance.

Upon leaving the Playhouse we were met with a larger group of protesters, screaming, telling us what dreadful people we were.

I fully support the Palestinian movement, but not sure baying for the blood of a dance troupe is necessarily the right way of getting results. Perhaps I'm wrong.

I didnt expect leaving a show at the Playhouse would have me quite so shaken up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.