Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

CANADA

My part of Sussex was the base for thousands of Canadian troops during the Second World War. In the past I have blipped some of the graffiti they carved into beech tree trunks in our local woods. It seems that they also left their marks on.some of the soft sandstone outcrops. This morning I noticed this carving of 'Canada' on a small outcrop on the Newick & Sutton Hall Estate. I like the way the author made a mistake - carving a D after the N and having to change it into an A. I'm guessing that it was left by troops because its very close to Isfield lock. Although the lock had been disused for over a hundred years by the time the Canadians arrived for some reason they filled one end with a wall of concrete.They did such a good job that, while the lock has been restored, the Canadian wall is too substantial to remove.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.