Hang on in there

A much better day today. We decided to go to Lake Louise on the bus. It was sunny , mostly, with empty slopes and beautiful perfect snow. After lunch I managed to fall off just about the only button lift in Canada. If you don't ski, a button lift is the most fiendish device ever invented to convey skiers up a slope. It consists of a flat plate of plastic , the 'button' , attached to a pole. A lift attendant shoves the pole and button between your legs and it drags you up. That's the theory. The plate slips constantly on your slippery ski trousers and is very difficult to keep in place. I haven't fallen off one for years. But the one today was slipperier than an extremely slippery thing, and on a particularly steep bit disappeared skywards depositing me on the snow and my sticks right in the path of all the other skiers who had to slalom around them.
Hazardous.
An extremely nice kind and hunky Canadian stopped and helped me and told me how to get down again by which time the others had come back down to me. Like getting back on the horse after a fall, I made my way tentatively down to the base and gave up for the day and got the bus back with LooseCanon who was feeling pretty tired by then.
Following a beer and the outdoor hot tub at the hotel I'm feeling almost human again!
Off out in search of food again in a minute!

Extra is an Elk bridge across the road for the animals to cross over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.