FoF

By FoF

Northern Lights

We were at a hotel on the last night in the countryside, and therefore the last chance to see the Northern Lights. The previous night the cloud had come over and obscured everything and we missed a great chance since the hotel had a rooftop platform to see the sky. So we went out several times after dinner but no stars to be seen due to cloud again. I went to bed but kept waking up involuntarily and on the third occasion looked out of the window to see a completely clear sky. I couldn't see any green but there were wispy shadows creeping across the sky and I decided that must be the lights which would only be visible through a camera lens. So I pulled on my clothes and crept out at 3.00am. I turned on the camera and there they were! I spent at least 45 minutes taking photos until the battery died. Not the strongest display as they weren't visible to the naked eye, but I was still jumping up and down every time the photo appeared on the screen. All by myself as noone else was up.

We had another amazing day visiting the Mid Atlantic Ridge, the Geysir and Gullfoss, as well as several smaller waterfalls and a farm to see the Icelandic horses and tomato growing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.