Palazzo Reflected

As we flew into Venice by mid-morning, the light shimmered over the lagoon. It had an opalescent quality such that the overall effect became almost monochromatic. No wonder Venice is compared to a pearl.

I took a water taxi to the hotel. We forged through the wooden posts lining the route spreading a wake behind.

At the hotel, which was housed in an old palazzo off Rugo del Potto, and charmingly elegant, I discovered that the thermostat was turned up to 24.5 C, far too hot. I flung open the windows to find that the view was of a pair of shuttered windows across a canal no more than 2-3 m wide. The light was very bright.

The decor was sumptuous but not overstated. Damask lined the walls. The curtains were expensive and looked like silk. The colour, a very pale lemon yellow and cream. Marble occasional tables dotted the corridor space outside.

But the plug points are three pronged. Fortunately, the hotel was able to provide adaptors, and I had to remove a teapot from the refreshment room to make myself a cup of genuine English tea.

Unpacked swiftly and off to Piazza San Marco via the Trattoria Storica around the corner where I sat in the sun and enjoyed a plate of fusilli senza glutine, and a large salad, with a very pleasant white wine to accompany. They know how to properly live, in Venice.

The streets were packed as I crossed into Sestier St Marco, unlike in Canaregio where the hotel was. Everyone was heading for the carnival celebrations in the square.

There were so many photos. Few are going to make the cut. I did like this reflection in the canal marking the border between Canaregio and St Marco.

Also the extra shot of the two ladies in costume enjoying what I assume was a Bellini for afternoon refreshment. Wikipedia tells me that a bellini was invented in Harry's Bar in 1948. It consists of prosecco and pureed white peaches.

It was a mistake to change from my boots into my shoes for the walk. I was throbbing by the time I got back to the hotel where I fell into bed after my shower and slept soundly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.