CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A visiting grey heron on our sycamore tree

After Helena left for work early this morning, I returned to bed with a cup of tea. I haven't felt too good for a few days, and yesterday's effort to stay busy during the day didn't have very good results.

As I checked my emails, I saw this grey heron fly up to and land on the highest branches of the sycamore tree at the bottom of our rear garden. I immediately went to get my camera and managed to change the lens and then poke it through a small window in my study. without disturbing the heron. A few frames later it took off from its high perch and soon after it banked around and flew off up The Horns valley, where I assume it went to the small lake to look for food. I was glad to get any sort of shot, as I was pointing the lens virtually towards the sun shining through thin cloud cover.

As I write this three buzzards are soaring above the valley.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.