today's another day

By dbrereton

And Paul Gascoigne scores....

15th June 1996, I was 26.

That day I woke and drove my friend Mick into Manchester to collect his car after his leaving do from his current employer. As we drove passed Marks and Sparks we both said silly place to park a truck. It was 9.45 ish.

I then drove to Angelsey to meet my then girlfriend now wife, and her mum and dad, jumped on their boat, and sailed round Angelsey.

Moored in the bay at Moelfre, we connected the little telly to the battery. Turned it on and Paul Gascoigne scored against Scotland.

Then the news came on at half time, and Manchester had been blown up 15 mins after we had driven passed that truck, or rather, that bomb.

The IRA had tried to blow me up in the Ideal Home Exhibition when I was 7, at Earl's Court, and missed.

They missed me in Manchester but they had another go in 1997 when I took 25 friends on a coach to the Grand National.

God bless Mo Mowlam....this pic I saw today in Sam's Chop House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.